Sustainability Committee

The Committee’s focus is to ensure sustainability issues and opportunities in Weston are proactively managed, advising the Select Board and collaborating with Town departments and committees. The Committee will recommend, develop and monitor programs designed to enhance Weston’s long-term sustainability and resilience in response to environmental, resource and energy challenges. The full committee charge details 10 action items.

Committee Work

The Sustainability Committee strives for a concerted and strategic approach to sustainability planning, with an ultimate goal of formulating a Sustainability Action Plan for the Town of Weston. 

Current projects include:

The Sustainability Committee meets regularly in open meeting. Subscribe to receive email/text notifications when meeting agendas and minutes are posted online to follow progress of these projects.


The Sustainability Committee is made up of seven voting members and at-large members are appointed by the Select Board for a three-year term. 

  • Nicholas Christman, Chair
    Term expires: 2025
  • Katharina Wilkins, Select Board’s Representative
    Term expires: 2024
  • Victor Guzman, at-large
    Term expires: 2024
  • Sandy Kendall, at-large
    Term expires: 2026
  • Adam Newman, School Committee Representative
  • Alex Selvig, Planning Board Representative
  • Phoebe Beierle, Permanent Building Committee Representative

Student Liaisons

The Sustainability Committee has partnered with Weston High School Students for Environmental Actions (SEA) Group. The SEA has selected three students to be Student Liaisons to help assist the Sustainability Committee in the schools. 

  • Jonathan Lan, Senior WHS
  • Thomas Li, Junior, WHS
  • Rishi Vaddi, alternate, WHS

Committee expertise includes built environment technical expertise; land use technical expertise; waste management; water infrastructure; ecology; community organization; communication; and sustainability experience and interest.

The Committee may solicit participation from other non-voting individuals with skills and expertise to complete discrete projects required to achieve the committee’s objectives. It is expected the committee will collaborate with the Sustainable Weston Action Group (SWAG) and will utilize representatives from Facilities, Public Works, and other Town departments as resources when working.