Historical Commission

The Historical Commission is responsible for the preservation of Weston's historic and architectural heritage by:

  • Creating and maintaining an inventory of historic assets, including:
    • Barns and outbuildings
    • Cemeteries
    • Commercial buildings
    • Historic districts
    • Houses
    • Monuments
    • Neighborhoods
  • Protecting the above-named assets from neglect, deterioration, demolition, and development
  • Imposing a 12-month delay of demolition if proposed work is deemed detrimental to a significant historic structure
  • Reviewing applications for demolition of any pre-1945 buildings
  • Reviewing and overseeing preservation restrictions
  • Recommending historical preservation projects to be funded from the Community Preservation Act Fund
  • Applying for property listings on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Approving applications for historic plaques

Preferably Preserved Buildings:
Classified Structures Proposed for Demolition

In reviewing a house proposed for demolition and subject to the Demolition Delay By-law (pre-1945 listed on the Cultural Inventory), the Historical Commission will make a determination if a structure should be preserved. 

If the Commission determines a house should be preserved, it will impose a delay in the issuance of a building permit in order to work with the homeowner to explore alternatives to demolition. When the demolition delay has been imposed, the house is classified as "Preferably Preserved." See the Demolition Delay By-law for further information.

Members of the Historical Commission are appointed by the Select Board for three-year terms. Staff support is provided through the Land Use Department.


  • Phyllis Halpern, Co-Chair
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Steve Wagner, Co-Chair
    Term Expires: 2025
  • Mara Burnett
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Alfred Aydelott
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Kathryn Scadden
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Henry S. Stone, Jr.
    Term Expires: 2025
  • John Thompson
    Term Expires: 2026
  • Ford Curran, Associate Member
    Term Expires: 2024

Community Representation

  • Henry Stone
    Friends of the Josiah Smith Tavern and Local Historic District Study Committee
  • Phyllis Halpern
    Educational Outreach
  • Steve Wagner
    Community Preservation Committee and Educational Outreach
  • Kathryn Scadden 
  • Local Historic District Study Committee
  • Alfred Aydelott
    Friends of the Josiah Smith Tavern

Additional Assistance Given to the Commission

  • Pamela Fox - Historic Markers Program and historical education
  • Alicia Primer - Development of Preservation Restrictions

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

All meetings of the Historical Commission are open to the public. Agendas are posted online prior the meeting. Minutes are also available online, following approval. Subscribe to receive notification of when meeting agendas are posted online.